Soundtrack: Gunnin’ for That #1 Spot

I just watched the documentary Gunnin’ for That #1 Spot, about some of the best high school basketball players in the country coming together for a game in Rucker Park in Harlem. The movie was pretty good, but kind of boring, as I’m not that into basketball.

The soundtrack kept me entertained, though. The movie was made by Adam Yauch of the Beastie Boys, and in all the reviews of the film that I read, the soundtrack was highly praised. But I was surprised to see that the soundtrack is not for sale yet, and there isn’t even a track list anywhere. So I started to figure it out for myself….

Here are the tracks from the movie that I could identify. They’re generally in order, but there are also a lot of songs missing—there were a bunch of jazz and funk and other old-school tunes that I couldn’t identify but I wish I could.

  • 50 Cent – “Hate It Or Love It”
  • Ludacris – “Number One Spot”
  • Kool and the Gang – “Hollywood Swingin'”
  • N.W.A. – “Straight Outta Compton”
  • Fat Joe – “My Lifestyle”
  • Jay-Z – “Lucifer”
  • Staples Singers – “Let’s Do It Again” (written by Curtis Mayfield)
  • Jay-Z – “My 1st Song”
  • House of Pain – “Jump Around”
  • M.I.A. – “Amazon”
  • Nas – “Halftime”
  • Joe Budden – “Pump It Up”
  • M.I.A. – “Pull Up the People”
  • Jay-Z – “Dirt Off Your Shoulders”

Also, somewhere in there there was supposed to be a new song by the Beastie Boys called “Bass Line Is Nice.”

Let me know if you know of anything else I’m missing.

Tags: , , , ,

15 Responses to “Soundtrack: Gunnin’ for That #1 Spot”

  1. Dave Chase Says:

    Here’s one you can add; my favorite jam of the movie.

    Roy Ayers – Running Away

    peace,

    Dave

  2. veale001 Says:

    there were also 2 tracks from the beastie boys first instrumental album “the in sound from way out” a GREAT fusion-jazz album.

  3. cmonki Says:

    yeah…awesome soundtrack. i know there was an Afrika Bambaataa song on there too…can’t remember the track title.

    excellent detective work!

  4. spencer Says:

    yea, i got one to add too

    cymande “brothers on the slide”
    self titled album-

    its a masterpiece

  5. Bobby Blacksmith Says:

    The Afrika Bambaataa song in the movie is entitled “Looking for the Perfect Beat”.

  6. Liberty Says:

    There’s “Boon Dox” by EPMD as well.

    Actually, just found a soundtrack listing on the film’s Wikipedia page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gunnin'_for_That_No._1_Spot

  7. Blip Says:

    Public Enemy – “By The Time I Get To Arizona”

  8. Michelle Says:

    Lil Boosie “My Struggle”

  9. Perfect Radiance Online Says:

    Perfect Radiance Online…

    […]Soundtrack: Gunnin’ for That #1 Spot « DJ Jojo[…]…

  10. cpa lancaster pa Says:

    cpa lancaster pa…

    […]Soundtrack: Gunnin’ for That #1 Spot « DJ Jojo[…]…

  11. Darin Says:

    There’s a song called Boot Down and Get It not sure of the artist name
    -Beasley is a Beast is a song too
    -The Panda Rat
    -Politickin- the Beastie Boys
    -Freaky Hijicki- the Beastie Boys
    and there’s another song called cissy strut

  12. Darin Says:

    There’s a song called Boot Down and Get It not sure of the artist name
    -Beasley is a Beast is a song too
    -The Panda Rat
    -Politickin- the Beastie Boys
    -Freaky Hijicki- the Beastie Boys
    and there’s another song called cissy strut

  13. Darin Says:

    cissy strut is by the meders
    panda rat is by the beastie boys

  14. HipHop Says:

    HipHop…

    […]Soundtrack: Gunnin’ for That #1 Spot « DJ Jojo[…]…

  15. business insurance Says:

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for free tractor insurance

Leave a comment